A Perfect Recipe for a Fresh Start

I thought a great way to start would be to post one of my favorite recipes.  Now, I haven’t had this recipe for long, in fact for most of my life I haven’t been a huge fan of banana bread.  I could never find a recipe that was healthy enough to meet my expectations that still tasted amazing.  I mean banana bread sounds like it should be healthy, right?  Unfortunately just because a recipe has a banana in it doesn’t make it good for you.  That being said I don’t mind it when my kids chow down on this bread(and not just because I can’t help myself either).  So to keep things short and sweet…

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

(Slightly) Adapted from Mama Pea

  • 3 bananas, mashed
  • 1/4 C butter(melted and cooled)
  • 1/4 C almond milk(or whatever you have on hand)
  • 1/4 C brown sugar(or sucanat)
  • 1/4 C sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 C whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/3 C semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Mix together the bananas, butter(or vegan alternative if that’s how you roll) milk, sugars and vanilla.  I’ve even reduced the sugar to 1/3 C total and it’s works just fine. Mix all the dry ingredients then add to the wet and mix just till incorporated, then fold in the chocolate chips.  Pour your batter into a greased loaf pan and bake for 45 – 50 minutes.

 

This entry was posted in Quick Breads and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Perfect Recipe for a Fresh Start

  1. surlykitchen says:

    looks yummy. welcome to the world of food blogging. it’s quite addictive

Leave a Reply

