Greek Salad

Who doesn’t have a recipe for Greek salad?  I’m sure everyone does even if it only means dumping half a bottle of store bought dressing onto some vegetables.  Now I’ve got to say it… If there’s one thing that scares me, it’s store bought dressing.  I’ve had some in the fridge since before my daughter was born and she’s coming up on 16 months, and it tastes the same as always.  Ew?  That’s not something I want to eat.  There’s one diet rule I think makes the most sense – if it doesn’t go bad, don’t eat it.  With the exception being honey which, when raw and unprocessed is very good for you, and doesn’t go bad.  Really though, everything should go bad at some point.  Even home made canned goods go bad after you open them.  Home baked goods go bad, or even just stale after a couple of days.  I think it goes without saying that Twinkies really creep me out.

That being said, here’s my version of Greek Salad, that I’m sure everyone has a version of their own.  You can serve it with pasta, or not.  Either way it’s awesome.  Sometimes I add pasta as an excuse to just eat this as an entire meal.  You can even use the dressing as a marinade.

Greek Salad

Dressing:

  • 1/3 C Olive oil(Extra Virgin and cold pressed if possible)
  • 2 – 3 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 2 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp basil
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp fresh ground black pepper
  • 3-4 cloves fresh garlic, pressed or finely minced

Salad:

  • 1 large English cucumber
  • 2 large tomatoes
  • your choice of a green or red/yellow/orange pepper
  • half a large red onion
  • 1 can medium-large pitted olives
  • 1 300g box of your choice of pasta(optional)
  • 1/2 – 3/4 C feta cheese, crumbled

Mix up your dressing and put it in the fridge.  You can do this the day before or even the morning before you want to serve it.  At the very minimum you want to let it sit for an hour to let the flavors come out.  Feel free to substitute fresh herbs for the dried, but be aware that you’ll at least need to double the amount.  You can also replace the herbs with 1 tablespoon of your favorite Greek seasoning, just check that there’s no salt or you might have to adjust the recipe.

Of course all the salad ingredients are to taste.  If you love cucumbers and don’t like tomatoes too much, add another cucumber and use less tomato.  I didn’t use a pepper this time, but sometimes I’ll even add 2.  It’s completely up to you.  I used a 300g box of multigrain pasta.  That’s almost 3/4 of a pound of dry pasta, but you can use a half pound or a full pound.  Use whatever kind you like, I like this specific kind of multigrain because it’s particularly high in protein, fiber and vitamins and minerals.  Just compare your white pasta to a box of whole wheat or whole grain multigrain pasta.  You might be amazed at what you find.  If you use all the veggie ingredients and the pasta you’ll need all of the dressing, but if you decide not to use pasta and don’t increase the veggies you may only need 1/2 to 3/4 of the dressing.  Just pour some on, stir it up and taste.

This entry was posted in Salad, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Greek Salad

  1. megi says:

    I couldn’t agree more about store bought salad dressings! The salad looks delicious! I make a similar version of this salad with cooked quinoa, I should try it with pasta one of these days.

  2. Faith says:

    I do eat some store bought dressings, but I do agree about things that don’t go bad freaking me out. Food is supposed to break down, dang it!

    • fooddoodles says:

      So do I occasionally, I can’t choke down a huge salad with nothing on it, but I try to make my own dressing nearly all of the time. Surprisingly, I like it better 🙂

Leave a Reply

