Seitan Pepperoni

I’m actually on a streak of savory recipes here on Food Doodles.  This really surprises me even though it wont be for long.  When I first started this blog I thought I’d be stuck only posting sweet things.  That’s obviously what I love the most even though I’m trying to cut down on the amount of sugar we consume.  And usually I don’t like fake meats.  They’re kind of a pet peeve of mine, but this is an exception.

There are so many real foods that are so much better for you and taste so good so I always wonder why people cutting out meat, immediately go for fake meats at the grocery store.  I can understand it’s a familiar thing, but open your mind.  You don’t need meat or a substitute to have a complete meal.  Like I said, this is an exception.   My meat loving husband loves this stuff.  I made half a recipe, and it lasted a day and a half.  While it was in the house my husband kept going to the fridge to steal slices, and couldn’t stay away from it even before I took pictures.  I had to be fast to get these pictures!  Even the kids loved it.  The texture is great, and it tastes fantastic.  We’ll be making it again for sure, but not as a replacement for meat, just because it’s good as it is.

Seitan Pepperoni

Recipe adapted from Fat Free Vegan Kitchen

  • 1 1/4 C vital wheat gluten
  • 1/4 C nutritional yeast
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 2-3 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes (use more for spicier pepperoni)
  • 1 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 tsp fennel seeds
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2/3 C water
  • 4 tbsp tomato sauce
  • 1 1/5 tsp liquid smoke
  • 1/4 tsp sugar

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  Thoroughly mix dry ingredients and separately mix wet ingredients.  Add the wet to the dry and mix as well as you can.  Turn out and knead with your hands for a couple minutes to make sure all the ingredients are mixed.  Roll into a 7″ log(or you can half the recipe like I did.  I made a 4-5″ log and baked it 10-15 minutes less) and roll in foil.  You can use the foil to squish the log into the proper shape because it will be fairly difficult to shape.  Twist the ends of the foil to seal it.  Bake in the preheated oven for 1 hour and 15 minutes, turning over once halfway through.  Remove from the oven and unwrap to allow it to cool.  If you’re not serving all of it right away, store in the fridge in a sealed container or wrapped in plastic wrap.

This entry was posted in Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Seitan Pepperoni

  1. Do you think it still would be yummy without the liquid smoke flavor? This looks SO GOOD!!!! I love the ingredients in it!

    • I’m sure it would still taste good, but the liquid smoke adds a lot of the flavor. If you’re worried about artificial ingredients you can usually find liquid smoke that is just water and natural smoke. It doesn’t go bad for a long time in the fridge and it tastes amazing in vegetarian split pea soup 🙂

  2. I have only tried to make seitan once and it was absolutely horrible. It was one of the only times I haven’t eaten something I made for dinner. Maybe I did something wrong? Who knows.
    You may have convinced me to give it another shot. I’m definitely intrigued!

  3. That looks wonderful! I have always wanted to make my own faux meat–even bought smoked paprika just for that purpose–now I have no excuse! I’ll have to give your recipe a try. Thanks! 🙂

  4. elra says:

    I never seen this here, not that I’m aware of. I know they carry seitan, but not pepperoi seitan. Sounds delicious!

  5. Pam says:

    I have never thought to make my own pepperoni… great idea.

  6. Wow, Heidi, this is such a creative recipe! I absolutely love it, and you did a great job. Thanks for sharing. You have a beautiful blog and I’m looking forward to exploring your recipes! 🙂

  7. Charissa says:

    Wow, this is so awesome! I want to try this…I’m definitely bookmarking this on my Delicious!

  8. SpicieFoodie says:

    I have to say that the seitan pepperoni looks really good. I’ve been wanting to try it for the longest time just out of curiosity, generally I’m not a fan of “fake meats”. That is a good sign of how great it was since everyone in your house loved it. Thanks for sharing and I hope I can find the ingredients.

  9. Rhiana says:

    I MUST try this. I hope my husband won’t notice it’s meatless though. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Simple skillet lunch « Two Spoons

  11. Zo Zhou says:

    Weee I just bought some wheat gluten for making my wholewheat breads tastier, and I just remembered this recipe. Can’t WAIT to try making my own seitan!

Leave a Reply

