Apple Nachos

Yes, I know, this just looks like a mess on a plate.  But hear me out, this may be the most amazing snack ever.  Although I may have gone a little crazy with this plate.  Just type apple nachos into Google and you’ll get plenty of hits, but I got my inspiration from How Sweet It Is.   These are such an awesome snack.  We’ve been making these for a while now.  Drizzle, sprinkle and toss whatever toppings you like on them.  Seriously, anything goes.  There are so many different options.  Any kind of nut butter or sauce, any kind of nuts and dried fruit, even coconut would be great.  Any mixture of spices that you want.  You even get to choose the kind of apple.  My kids love this.  Not that they don’t love plain apples, but sometimes it’s nice to dress them up 😀

Apple Nachos

  • 1 large apple cored and thinly sliced(I like mine fairly thin.  It creates a higher topping to apple ratio, but whatever you like)
  • 1 tbsp smooth peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp chocolate sauce
  • 2 large pinches cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp chocolate chips
  • 3 tbsp mixed dried cranberries and raisins
  • 1-2 tbsp chopped pecans

Slice and layer your apples on a plate, drizzle with the peanut butter and chocolate sauce(or caramel would be amazing) and sprinkle the rest of the ingredients over top.  If you use dairy free chocolate sauce and chips this is a vegan treat.  Of course all the measurements are approximate and everything is to taste.  Add whatever sounds good to you.  This should be enough for a snack for two, but I wont tell if you don’t share 😉

This entry was posted in Dessert, Uncategorized, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Apple Nachos

  1. The Teenage Taste says:

    Those nachos look delicious! I never thought of combining apples and chocolate, but they seem to work wonderfully. Thanks for sharing the recipe! 😀

  2. SpicieFoodie says:

    I think it looks like a plate of yummy fun. I’ve never heard of this but it is such a great idea, I’m a big kid 🙂 You know I would also love this to sit with on movie night at home. Too funny we both have apples on your blogs. ( By the way the pan would be a 8″. Thanks for stopping by.)

  3. Wow! This puts the apple pancake I just made to shame. Love apples with cheese and apples with caramel, but this takes apple sampling to an entirely new level. Thanks for the great idea!

  4. Love it! It’s a great way to use up random fruit odds and ends, too. Sprinkle nut butter, choc chips, sprinkles, etc on fruit and get the family to come running 🙂

  5. Stephanie says:

    This looks like an awesome snack! And way more healthy than traditional nachos. Great idea!

  6. Woah! This looks incredible. This is a must try!

  7. Jun says:

    Would make an addictive snack!

  8. Errin says:

    You just revolutionized my apple eating world. 🙂

  9. Those look absolutely delicious! I’d definitely be greedy and probably not share 🙂

  10. This looks amazing. I’m thinking a combination of apples, honey, pb, walnuts, and cinnamon would be so delicious! (And I would definitely not share…haha)

  11. elra says:

    Wow, how unique and delicious!

  12. emily says:

    Such a great idea! I’m definitely bookmarking this as a chip alternative to recommend. 🙂 Thanks so much for your creativity.

  13. What a clever – and delicious – idea! I would dominate these apple nachos ;).

  14. Lisa says:

    Something that looks like a “mess on a plate” is usually my favorite snack. I love everything in this!

  15. Stephanie says:

    Looks yummy….but, how did you get the peanut butter soft enough to drizzle like that??

Leave a Reply

