Wheat Berry Veggie Salad

Usually I love pasta salads.  Obviously, they need to have a good dressing, but making one at home isn’t hard at all.  I try to choose a good whole grain pasta and lots of good veggies and fresh herbs, and then it suddenly dawned on me.  I have a cupboard full of wheat berries.  Probably about 30lbs I would guess.  Who can pass up 20lbs for $10 of local wheat?  Obviously not me.

Anyways, I figured I should try them some other way other than grinding them for bread so I decided to cook them and use them in a salad.  They’re super chewy and good.  And talk about filling.  This salad isn’t very big but it will easily serve 2 for a meal or 4 as a side.  And the wheat berries are completely unrefined, and super good for you 🙂  You don’t have to worry about what ingredients are in your pasta.

Springtime Wheat Berry Salad

  • 1 C cooked and cooled wheat berries
  • 1 large carrot
  • 1 large stalk of celery
  • 1/4 C finely chopped sweet onion
  • 1/4 C chopped fresh parsley

Dressing:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 thyme
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder

Soak wheat berries overnight and then cook in fresh water(at least 4 times the amount of berries) in a pot for 1-1 1/2 hours, till chewy but tender.  Cool before adding to the salad.  Chop veggies in small bite sized pieces and mix all together in a medium sized bowl.  Mix together dressing and pour over the salad.  Mix together and store in the fridge till ready to serve or at least 1 hour to let the flavors come together.  Serves 2, or 4 as a side and lasts for a few days in the fridge.  Feel free to try some different veggies in here too.  I think cherry tomatoes would taste so good mixed in 🙂

This entry was posted in Salad, Side Dish, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Wheat Berry Veggie Salad

  1. Oh my goodness…this looks amazing!
    I have wheat berries, and I had NO clue what to do with them!! I think I know now 🙂

  2. I’ve never even heard of wheat berries before! I’m going to have to try and track some down 🙂

  3. That looks great! Very summery! 🙂

  4. The Teenage Taste says:

    I love a good pasta salad! This looks delicious. I love how you added thyme – I’ve been obsesssed wth thyme lately! I put it in everything! 🙂

  5. marbaird says:

    Wow. I found your blog on Foodblogroll.com. I love it and can’twait to spend some time picking out great recipes.

  6. This dish looks delish, I love wheatberries they are like little balls the texture is amazing.

  7. Ooh looks refreshing and hearty at the same time. Do you usually grind them for flour? I’ve never done that – do you have to dehydrate first or anything?

    • Thanks Michelle!
      I do grind them into flour. You can sprout the wheat before grinding it and that’s the only time you would need to dehydrate them. Otherwise they’re ready to throw in the grinder straight from storage. I haven’t tried sprouting them before grinding them for flour, but I’m definitely going to try it soon because I’m very curious about how that will change the taste and texture of bread made from the flour. Sprouting improves the digestibility of the grain, doesn’t it?

  8. Alisa says:

    wheat berries is something that I have to try soon,this looks really good.I followed you from the foodie blog roll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this wheat berry widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about recipes for wheat berries,Thanks!

  9. rachel says:

    yum, that looks delicious. wheat berries are great for springtime salads 🙂

  10. Lori says:

    My pantry is overflowing with grains as well. I always have to stock up when there is a deal. Included in the mix are plenty of wheat berries so I’m always looking for great recipes. This sounds delicious!

  11. Amber Shea @Almost Vegan says:

    Your photos are awesome. I love wheat berries!

  12. That salad looks amazing! Thank you for reminding me that I haven’t eaten wheatberries in a while… 🙂

  13. Where did you get such a good buy on wheat berries, that is great.

  14. Megan says:

    That looks so tasty!
    I bought wheat berries from Whole Foods, just because I was curious what they were like. It’s been quite a while now, but I still haven’t found a use for them.
    But I think I’ll make this tomorrow for dinner… and it’ll go perfectly with this wonderful weather we’re expecting!

  15. Ashley says:

    Looks interesting – I love the colors.

  16. This looks so amazing! Although I cook quinoa almost daily, strangely I’ve never tried wheat berries! I can’t wait to give this a try – I need a little variety! The dressing looks like it would be good on anything. Thanks for the great recipe!

  17. Sallee says:

    I just made my first wheatberry salad and it’s amazing! I chopped up black olives, cherry toms and mozzarella balls, tossed them in a little olive oil and balsamic vinegar then tossed it all with the cooked wheatberries! Then I added some chopped parsley and a squeeze of lemon juice and voila! Easy and yummy!

Leave a Reply

