Pumpkin Pie Spice

I realized yesterday that I used a spice mix and so today I thought I’d share how I make that mixture at home.  While I don’t really have a problem with buying a mixture of spices from the store, it is nice to be able to make your own at home and save money doing it.  We love this spice mixture in pumpkin pie smoothies, sweet potato fries, sprinkled over sliced apples and obviously in pumpkin pie.  Anywhere you use pumpkin pie spice, this will taste awesome.  You can even adjust it to whatever you like.  Love cloves?  Add more.  I know I do 🙂

Pumpkin Pie Spice

Recipe adapted from this recipe found on Allrecipes

  • 4 tbsp cinnamon
  • 4 tsp nutmeg
  • 4 tsp ginger
  • 3 tsp allspice
  • 1 tsp cloves

Mix all the spices and store in an airtight container.  I usually just throw it all in the jar I’ll be using to store it, seal it tightly and shake.  You can keep a 3 year old busy for quite a while using this method 😉  You can also scale the recipe up to make more if you use it on a regular basis.

This entry was posted in Gluten Free, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pumpkin Pie Spice

  1. Mmmm pumpkin pie spice is probably my favorite combination of spices. 🙂

  2. Yadi I. says:

    This is one of those recipes that I’m so glad I stumbled into. Very useful!

  3. megi says:

    This looks like the perfect combination of spices. I love to mix my own and I’ll definitely try this, thank you!

Leave a Reply

