Vegan Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Chunk Cookies

I really think the problem with most healthy cookies is the lack of oil.  I love some “muffin top” type cookies that are soft and fluffy and like muffins and I’ve successfully made some of those that are really good with very minimal added fat.  Unfortunately, your average cookie needs something more.  And with these cookies, it’s not too much.  You don’t feel weighed down after eating a couple of these like you do with traditional cookies.  It’s only a few tablespoons(plus the peanut butter) for a big batch of cookies.  A pretty fair amount for some super yummy cookies, I think 🙂  You could even substitute some dried fruit for the chocolate chips if you really wanted to.  And the original recipe had no added maple syrup so I’m sure you could leave it out(and add another tbsp of oil) and they would still be fantastic 🙂

So I went a little crazy with the picture taking for these.  Seriously?  I brought out a coconut and a banana(and hid that picture at the bottom, haha).  I’m not sure what I was thinking(who thinks a brown hairy coconut looks attractive anyways?) but the picture was clear so I added it.  Oh well.  I had no idea cookies were so photogenic, but these ones were for sure.  And not just photogenic.  So yummy!  My husband doesn’t like banana baked into anything, but excluding him, everyone in the house absolutely loved them.  And by everyone I mean myself and the two kids.  They didn’t last long enough to share with anyone else 😀

Peanut Butter and Banana Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Recipe slightly adapted from Kitchen Karate

Makes about 2 1/2 dozen small cookies

  • 3 large ripe bananas
  • 1/2 C peanut butter
  • 3 tbsp coconut oil(or substitute any flavorless oil like canola)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1-2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 C old fashioned rolled oats(certified gluten-free if necessary)
  • 1/3 C shredded coconut
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 C chocolate chips
  • up to 1/2 C other add ins(dried fruit, nuts, or more chocolate chips) Optional

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  Mash the bananas in a large bowl and combine with peanut butter, liquified oil, maple syrup, and vanilla.  In a separate bowl mix the dry ingredients and then add to the banana mixture and mix well.  Add in the chocolate chips and anything else you want to add in and stir just till everything is evenly dispersed.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and drop cookies by spoonfuls 1″ apart.  Bake for 12-14 minutes just till set.  I baked mine till the edges of the oats on top turned golden.

Make sure they’re completely cool before putting them in an airtight container.  I’d even recommend leaving them on the counter for a couple hours because the bananas in them will make them soft if they’re covered too soon.

This entry was posted in Bite Sized Sweeties, Dessert, Gluten Free, Uses for old bananas, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Vegan Peanut Butter Banana Chocolate Chunk Cookies

  1. I absolutely love cookies that are sweetened with bananas. My very first “healthy cookie” I made was this type and I’ve been addicted ever since. I’ll bet the chocolate chips make these really delicious.

  2. These look amazing! We were definitely on the same wave-length today 😛
    I agree completely on the healthy cookies thought. I’m totally fine with muffin tops baked on a cookie sheet…I’m not totally fine with calling them cookies! lol. Besides, some coconut oil is not going to hurt you. It might even help you, and definitely makes a better cookie 😉

  3. I’m totally drooling right now!!! I’ve bookmarked this and will definitely make some this week!! I don’t have enough bananas, but I’ll be able to make half a batch at least, and since I’ve given up processed sugar for Lent, I’ll use agave nectar instead of maple syrup.

    I can’t wait to make them! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe! I love that I can eat cookies and it still be healthy for me. 🙂

  4. Ashley says:

    Hey, new reader here! I just had to comment on these amazing looking cookies. I’m big on trying to find healthier solutions for the sweets I just cannot live without, and these look like a they’d work perfectly! Mmmm and bananas.. so good in cookies!

    • Welcome! Thanks so much for the comment 🙂 I love finding healthier recipes or ideas for sweet things too 🙂 I cannot live without sweets either, but it’s so much nicer to have naturally sweet things.

  5. Lauren Hayes says:

    These look very yum!

  6. Ryan @ Aloha Appetite says:

    :O I love just the title of these cookies. They look perfect!

  7. Such beautiful pictures of some YUMMY looking cookies 🙂

  8. Love that these are a healthy treat! They look sooo tasty!

    Mary
    Delightful Bitefuls

  9. I’m so happy you tried them and were able to adapt them in to a vegan recipe. They look great! 🙂

  10. blog by tina says:

    I love it! I am always looking for delishus healthy cookies! I will have to make these for my lil monkies

  11. Elizabeth says:

    Hey – these look FANTASTIC! I’m not, though, a fan of coconut in anything. Do you think they would work just leaving out the coconuts, or do you have a suggestion for an alternative?

  12. bananas make the best cookies and I love that these are GF!

  13. Kristina says:

    Yum! These look amazing, I love coconut! Plus peanut butter and bananas, you can’t go wrong!

  14. hazelcelt says:

    Dying to try these! They look divine!

  15. Jess says:

    I have to tell you how I found your blog! Someone was on mine and saved a post to their pinterest site, which was found through another pinterest site, so I decided to looking through their saved foods, and found this pic of your cookies, which interested me….small world. anyway, can’t wait to try these. Happy blogging!

Leave a Reply

