Roasted Garlic Hummus

Well this was an interesting weekend for sure.  On top of all the regular busyness, and the holiday busyness our computer decided to die.  Well not really, a virus took over and really wreaked havoc making it unusable for over a day.  Silly me for not having everything perfectly protected, I guess.  In any case I think it’s all fixed now and it seems to be running fine.  Thank goodness.  At the exact moment I realized the computer was infected I was about to buy hosting for this site, so I’m glad I didn’t get to it.  But now that things are up and running again I’ll be moving to a self hosted site fairly soon.  If any other bloggers that have done this have any tips or recommendations please let me know.  I’m sure I’ll need all the help I can get.  I would love any emails or comments.  Thank you!

I can’t wait to post more about the weekend, but I don’t want to overload this post.  And hopefully I can get some pictures before I post about… Baby goats!  😀

Who in the blog world doesn’t love hummus?  Seriously, you can adapt it to any flavor really.  I don’t know anyone that thinks chickpeas are offensive, but maybe that’s just because I don’t know many people 😀  In any case, this is what we’ve been snacking on lately.  Just with plain raw veggies.  My son even asks for it so it must be good.  And the baby?  Well, she just sucks the hummus off the veggies.  Sometimes I can convince her to take a bite of celery or carrot but I don’t mind her double dipping this stuff 🙂

Roasted Garlic Hummus

  • 1 15 oz can(or just under 2 cups) chickpeas, drained reserving some of the liquid and rinsed
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1/3C tahini
  • 1 small yellow onion
  • 1 head garlic, roasted
  • 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil(plus more to roast the garlic)
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Slice the very top of the head of garlic off, exposing all the individual cloves. Place the garlic on a small square of tin foil and drizzle it with a teaspoon or two of olive oil and then wrap it up and place it on a baking sheet.  Roast at 400 degrees for 35 minutes.  Once it’s done unwrap it and pull the cloves of garlic out.  I like to roast a few at a time and then keep them in the fridge to use, or you can freeze them for later use.  If you’d like to use raw garlic in your hummus you can substitute 2-3 large cloves of garlic in place of the entire head of roasted garlic.

Roughly chop the onion and throw it and everything else into a food processor.  Blend till smooth adding a little of the reserved liquid from the can of beans(or your home cooked beans).  Don’t be afraid to add liquid as I find it’s better when it’s got a little bit more because it firms up in the fridge.  Refrigerate 3-4 hours before serving to give the flavors a chance to come out.  Serve any way you like with a pinch of smokey paprika on top(to make it pretty ;)), with fresh veggies, on crackers, in sandwiches, with soft fresh pitas.  Or by the spoonful, I wont judge 😀

This entry was posted in Dips/Spreads/Toppings, Gluten Free, Vegan, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Roasted Garlic Hummus

  1. Lauren Hayes says:

    This hummus looks so yummy!

    I can’t wait to hear about baby goats! Too cute!

  2. That sounds great. I’ve never used onion in my hummus. I love your photos.

  3. Oh my. A whole head of garlic in hummus?! A dream come true! =)

    I adore goats. I can’t wait to see pictures!

  4. I loved roasted garlic and it’s especially good in hummus. Takes regular hummus to a new level!

  5. Faith says:

    I’m glad your computer is up and running again…technology problems are such a pain in the neck! Love the hummus, it sounds great with the roasted garlic!

  6. the cumin always makes hummus so good

  7. I am always worried my computer is going to crash with all my crap on it! lol..
    as for the hummus…, it is my favorite food of all time. If there is no hummus in the house, I am very very sad.. 🙂 with that being said…I am drooling staring at your pictures!

  8. Stephanie says:

    Baby goats! How cute!
    Hummus really is awesome. I always add lots of garlic and spices, including lots of turmeric. It turns a slightly funny yellow color, but it’s delicious.

  9. Woooow, a big bowl of hummus goodness 🙂 Lovely and sooooo delicious.

Leave a Reply

