Rice Clover Rolls


Today has been a kitchen day.  Do you ever assign days for certain things?  I know for myself I have cleaning days and laundry days and today just happened to be a kitchen day.  Not that I don’t spend time in the kitchen every day of course.  But kitchen days I spend way more time in the kitchen than anywhere else.

I love kitchen days the most(honestly, who loves cleaning day? :P).  We like having leftovers in the fridge or quick snacks in the cupboard so I spend one day making a whole bunch of things for quick meals and snacks later.  Except it’s already past noon and there are hardly any leftovers!  I made baked oatmeal for breakfast that has about 1 serving left as the children continued to devour it after I had my breakfast.  And I made gluten-free blueberry muffins which were only have one left out of the whole batch of 6 – and I only ate one.  The kids may be small, but they eat a ton.  At least I got pictures of what I made before they ate it all 😀

These rolls were actually from a few days ago, and they make great leftovers – although they are best served warm from the oven.  I especially like these a day or two later, toasted.  They even make good sandwiches 🙂


Wild Rice Country Rolls

Recipe from Bread For All Seasons

  • 1 1/2 tbsp active dry yeast
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup
  • 2 1/4 C warm water
  • 1 1/2 C cooked wild rice(or short grain brown rice)
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • 2 1/2 C whole wheat flour
  • 1-2 1/2 C bread flour

In a small bowl mix 1 tbsp syrup with 1/2 cup warm water and the yeast.  Let sit 10 minutes till softened.  In a large bowl mix 1 3/4 cups warm water with remaining syrup,rice,salt, and whole wheat flour.  Beat till smooth then add the yeast mixture and 1 cup of bread flour.  Beat well then add 1/4 cup of bread flour at a time.  Turn out and knead till smooth and springy.  Do not add too much flour, the dough should still be pretty sticky.  Cover and let rise 1 1/2 hours.

Turn out and divide into 4 then divide each quarter into 5.  Shape each into a round(you may need to use a little flour otherwise they will stick to your hands and be very hard to shape) and place on a greased sheet that’s been sprinkled with cornmeal, seam side down and 1″ apart.  Cover and rise 30-40 minutes, till almost doubled.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Using floured kitchen shears snip each roll in 5 places around the outside almost all the way through, but leaving the dough connected in the middle.  Dust tops with flour and place in the upper and lower racks in the oven switching half way through.  Bake 18-22 minutes till lightly browned.  Cool 10 minutes before serving.


Submitted to YeastSpotting

This entry was posted in Rolls, Vegan, Vegetarian, Yeast Bread and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Rice Clover Rolls

  1. Lauren Hayes says:

    These look delicious! I also love their shape 🙂

  2. OMG…SO cute! THey look perfect! You are seriously so talented!

  3. What an interesting bread recipe! I’ve never come across a bread recipe with rice in it! Sounds wonderful, and I love how you shaped them.

    Me…I don’t assign days for certain tasks…just do things as they need to be done. And kitchen day…well…that’s every day of the week! 🙂

  4. These sound awesome – and look like they could wow a crowd, too 😛 I would have so much fun trying it with different grains, too – I bet you could go crazy!

  5. Such great, creative, work. Love it!

Leave a Reply

